Performing an HP System Recovery in Windows 7 | HP Computers | HP


HP System Recovery is a software tool that restores all the data on your computer’s hard drive. Recovering your hard drive can be useful when the computer has been infected by a virus when system files to become corrupted or deleted, or when you want to erase all of your software and start over. View this video to learn how you can use HP System Recovery to return your computer software back to the way it was when it was first purchased. Before you get started it is a good idea to remove any hardware devices that did not originally come with the computer. Disconnect printers and remove any external storage devices. Leave the keyboard, mouse, and monitor connected. If you added any additional internal components such as a hard drive or graphics card then these should be removed as well. If you can open Windows then you can start our recovery from the Programs menu. Click Start, All Programs, Recovery Manager, and then click Recovery Manager again. The user account control window will probably open. If so click Yes. A Recovery Manager window opens. click the system recovery link in the first section. Confirm you want to restore your computer to factory defaults. Your computer restarts and eventually opens another Recovery Manager window. If Windows cannot open, turn on the computer and repeatedly press the F11 key about once every second until you see the text Windows is loading files. Eventually a Recovery Manager window opens. In some cases, the recovery information on the hard drive may be missing or damaged, such as when a hard drive is replaced. When this happens it is necessary to use recovery disks to recover your computer. To start a recovery using disks, turn on the computer and insert the first disk into the CD DVD drive. After the disk has been fully inserted, turn off the computer by pressing and holding the Power button until the computer shuts off. Wait a few seconds, and then turn on the computer. Eventually a Recovery Manager window opens. At the Recovery Manager window, click the system recovery link in the first section. If you are recovering using disks, select Factory Reset. You might also need to click Next depending on the type of disks you’re using. The next Recovery Manager window opens. If you have in the important files that remain on the hard drive, you must back them up at this point, or they will be permanently destroyed by the recovery process. If you have not yet saved your files select Backup Your Files first to go into a series of screens that will help you backup your files, if it is possible to do so. Follow the on screen instructions to finish backing up your data. If you cannot or do not want to backup your files, select Recover Without Backing Up Your Files and then click the Next button. Click OK on the warning message if you would like to continue. The recovery process starts. This will take a while to complete. If you are using recovery disks, the process can take over an hour and you will be prompted to insert more disks if you have more than one disk. Eventually, the recovery process completes and you are presented with either a restoration complete screen or any file copy is complete screen. If you’re using recovery disks that were sent to you from HP, the final screen may appear different. Click Finish or Next, depending on which button is shown. The recovery process is completed. Now, the computer will restart and begin the Windows setup process. After recovery, your computer is more vulnerable to security threats. Make sure you have security software installed before connecting to the Internet Once your computer is secure connect to the Internet. Do this before installing other software in order to get the latest updates to your system. After connecting open your security software can get the latest updates for your security software, especially updates to virus definitions. Open the Windows Update tool in the Start menu to get the latest updates for Windows. Open HP Support Assistant to install the latest important updates for HP. Now that your system has been recovered and updated, you can reconnect and install devices that were unplugged previously. Thank you for viewing this video. For more help, go to HP.com/Support.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *